Private Student Loan Offers For Your School

Find additional ways to make ends meet while pursuing your degree.

More Options


2010 Scholarship Provider of the Year Winners Announced

Howard and Nancy Terry photo courtesy of

Leah Westfall

November 15, 2010

2010 Scholarship Provider of the Year Winners Announced
As it has for the past 12 years, Fastweb has again been a proud sponsor of the Scholarship Provider of the Year Award and is happy to announce this year’s winning recipients in the two categories of college and university providers and independent providers. The 2010 college and university provider of the year award winner is the University of Southern Mississippi’s Luckyday Foundation Citizenship Scholar Program. The program provides 100 Mississippi high school seniors with a $4,000 scholarship that is renewable for up to four years and is based on the following criteria: “B” average GPA, average ACT scores, financial need and community service involvement. Annually the foundation gives a total of 400 scholarships totaling $1,600,000 to the university each year.

$1,000 April Scholarship

Easy to Apply

Uniquely, the Luckyday scholarship recipients are housed together at the university in a living and learning community where they receive academic leadership and career training support. The program boast a 92% retention rate and a 82% six-year graduation rate compared to university’s 73% retention rate and 43% graduation rate. More than just a scholarship, the program is designed to help students focus on community service as well as leadership development. Each scholarship recipient must complete 20 hours of community service each school semester, and meet weekly with an upperclassmen scholarship recipient who serves as a mentor. To learn more about the Luckyday Foundation visit The 2010 Independent Scholarship Provider of the Year award winner is the Terry Foundation. The foundation is the state of Texas largest source of private scholarships and provides renewable four-year scholarships to students at University of Texas at Austin, Texas A&M University, the University of Houston, Texas State University-San Marcos, the University of Texas at San Antonio, the University of Texas at Dallas, and the University of North Texas. Founded in 1986 by Howard and Nancy Terry, according to the website, the foundation’s goal is to help young people help themselves. When setting out to give back to their community the Terry’s first gave directly to the colleges and universities to help support campus construction projects but remained unsatisfied knowing that they wanted to do more and, thus was born the idea of investing in students based on the belief that a university is only as good as the educated citizens it produces. Since its inception, the Terry Scholarship Program has helped over 2,400 Texas college students to achieve their goals in higher education.

Get Your Custom List of Scholarships to Help Pay for School. Sign Up Now!

Fastweb is your connection to scholarships, financial aid & more.

Scholarship recipients for the Terry Foundation are selected based on academic excellence, leadership and financial need. Many of the recipients are first generation college students. The foundation strives to maintain a close relationship with the recipients by sponsoring community-building events such as an orientation program, networking banquets, an annual picnic and career seminars. To learn more about the Terry Foundation visit

Join the Discussion

Fastweb makes finding scholarships a breeze.

Become a member and gain exclusive access to our database of over 1.5 million scholarships.

By clicking, I agree to the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.